Webmail | Help
Information About  
The University  
Academic Schools  
Administrative Departments  
Research - Library - Syllabus  
Online Journal  
  Information for
  Teachers / Officers / Staffs
  SUST Convocation 2007
  Flood Aid Activities 2007
  Site Map - Feedback
Welcome SUST
After a long struggle and movement, the Shahjalal University of Science and Technology was established in 1987. The only university of its kind, it started its career on 14 February 1991 with three departments: Physics, Chemistry and Economics, 13 teachers and 205 students. At the end of 1996, it has expended to three faculties: School of Physical Sciences, School of Applied Science & Technology and School of Social Sciences. Now there are 15 departments under these five faculties. The number of teachers and students has grown in proportion. Besides, the university has two affiliated medical colleges under the School of Medical Sciences and one affiliated Veterinary College under the School of Life Science. Originally situated on 211.33 acres of land, the university has a master plan of conferring graduate and post-graduate degrees to 5000 students every year under 8 different faculties.